Routine: The Key to Production

I am a reader. I will read anything you put in front me, no matter the topic or format. I have recently read a few articles and pieces about how having a daily routine is something that many successful people do. Research says that of the work we do, 80% of it is unproductive, and 20% of it is what ends up being used. How do we make the most of our time? Routine. The more things we do the same each and every day, the more time we have to focus our attention to the things that are not routine. The less energy we waste on things that could potentially be routine, the more energy we can spend on productive work.

I have always been a little bit of a creature of habit, and now I can almost take stock in the fact that my daily routine and habits have allowed me to be productive in a short amount of time.

A typical day for me looks like this:

Wake up early and head to the gym and get my heart and muscles pumping. I will occasionally listen to music while working out, but I tend to prefer podcasts. This gets my brain working along with my muscles, and on long runs takes my mind off my legs more so than music that I end up tuning out anyways.

Shower and cook and eat breakfast. Cooking and eating breakfast with my morning coffee could quite possibly my favorite time of the day. During my workouts and breakfast is usually the time that I do the best thinking and brainstorming about life and the day ahead of me. I always eat an omelet with veggies and typically turkey, along with some fruit, and occasionally oatmeal, toast, or protein pancakes depending on how intense my workout was.

By 8:00 AM I have already accomplished quite a bit and can now start my day of work.

Get to the office around 8:30 AM.

Work until about 12:00 when I break for lunch.

Lunch is usually some type of salad with protein and lots of veggies.

Work again after lunch until around 5:00 when I run errands before heading home.

I try to go on a walk at some point during the evening, but not always.

I cook dinner and relax for the evening. I absolutely love to cook, so the beginning and ends of my days are almost therapeutic to me. It is even better when I have the chance to cook a nutritious meal for friends and family.

Before bed I try to get a little reading done before turning out the lights.

 

Now, just because this is my typical daily routine doesn’t mean that if something happens and it doesn’t go as planned, my day is ruined. I am still flexible because on a normal basis my energy is put into things that require focused thinking. When things go off plan, I have reserved energy and strength of mind to continue on and jump over the hurdles while still staying on track.

Pretty mundane, but in my opinion, effective. I don’t waste time and energy trying to decide what to cook for breakfast, or eat for lunch. I don’t have to worry about when I will fit in a workout after work, or be too tired to do so after a day in the office. I get it done first thing in the morning, and it energizes me throughout the rest of the day. By the time I am ready to relax I can do just that because there is no need to hit the gym.

ROUTINE BUILDS CONSISTENCY AND CONSISTENCY BUILDS SUCCESS

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

