Germany: 12/11-12/2015 (Munich)

12/11/2015

We went to Neuschwanstein today.  It is a castle so extravagant and beautiful that Walt Disney modeled his castle after it.  

  
I had been here before, and it is one of the few things I vividly remember from that first trip I took to Germany.  It is about a 2 hour train ride down to the Southern German town of Füssen near the Austrian border.  We then caught a bus to the small village at the base of the mountain that the castle sits on. We waited in line, got out tour ticket and time slot, then hiked up the mountain to the castle.  The views are so amazingly beautiful and make the hike more than worth it. 

   
    
 
   
   
Before catching the train back, we got some delicious döner to eat on the trip.  Exhausted, we just played some Phase 10 at the hostel bar and called it a night. 12/12

I woke up, ate breakfast, and did some more site seeing on my own this morning. I then went back and picked up Kalin to check out some more sited and show her some that I had already seen.  The plac was to meet up with Coach Hat this afternoon, but due to flight connections that were missed, and the usual airport shenanigans, we were not able to. 

We went to the Englischer Garden, a city park even bigger than Central Park, and saw the river surfers and Chinese Garden.  I tried eierpunsch. Not a fan. Lebkuchen though…I like lebkuchen. 

   
   

  
  
  

I then showed Kalin Old Town Hall and Viktualienmarkt, sited I saw yesterday morning in my exploring. 

   

   
  
We were hungry so it was time to hit up the world famous Hofbräuhaus.  The second we stepped into the place I knew why it was so popular. 

   
    

   
We shopped on our way back to the hostel for a bit.  I then headed back out to buy some souvenirs and ended up stumbling upon the most unique Christmas Market I have seen and probably will see.  It was a mix of 6th street, hippy art fest, and rave party.  

   
    

  
We leave late tomorrow morning to go to Cologne for the last leg of our trip and the end of my journey here in Germany.  I can’t believe I am only a few days from being back home!!

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

1 thought on “Germany: 12/11-12/2015 (Munich)”

Leave a Reply

