Germany: 11/12-14/2015

11/12

I went to Cologne tonight to meet up with Kinsley, the tutor from Bonn, for dinner and Thursday night Bible Tsudy.  We are studying Joseph and how his story related to what we see both in the New Testament, but also how it relates to our lives today.  God has promised us so much.  By believing in Jesus Christ we automatically receive the promises that he gave Abraham and all of his decendants.  How awesome is that?!?  

11/13

Tonight one of the neighbors had a bonfire party, and for about an hour I felt a little more at home.  We love to have parties by the fire back home, and I was glad to get to enjoy one while halfway across the world.  I got to have my first taste of Glühwein, and as a wine lover I was pleased.  It is a spiced and heated wine that tastes like a hot cider, and it something I will definitely be trying to make back home for Christmas Eve.  We also roasted little Nürnberger sausages on sticks over the fire.  I’m not big on any kind of sausage, unless it’s the turkey breakfast variety 😋, but these were pretty good on some good German bread.  It was surprisingly the first time I have eaten sausage since being here.  My host family said they don’t eat it much because of the fat content and unhealthy aspect of it.  Which is a bit ironic considering they eat a TON of full fat dairy products like cheese, butter, and a lot of fatty cuts of deli meat.  Oh well. 

11/14

Terrorists attacked Paris last night.  I say up until 2:00AM watching the coverage.  Over 150 dead.  Explosions and mass shooting followed by suicide bombs at Parisian restaurants, sports arenas, and music venues rocked not only the city of Paris, but the entire world.  The music venue scene was the most catastrophic as rapid hungrier spread across a large crowd of concert goers, and a hostage situation leading to police barging in and the gunmen committing suicide via belts loaded with bombs.  With Paris being a 2 hour train ride away from where I am staying, and with there being around a million refugees from Syria here in Germany, I feel like I should be a little more afraid than I am, but I’m not. I know who holds my future, and I know that He will protect me according to His greater plans. Satan is real, and to say that these people are a representation of faith or of the entire Islamic religion is disheartening.  The same happens with radical Christians at times.  Our world needs PEACE desperately, and the Peace can only come from Jesus Christ our Lord and SAVIOR. 

#PrayforParis #PrayforPeace #PrayforAll

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

1 thought on “Germany: 11/12-14/2015”

  1. Hi Kela, this is Klaus. I just enjoyed reading your post. Imust tell you that Karnevall is our Martigras. It is really big in Köln and throughout the whole of the Rheinland.Kepp up the good work. I hope to see more of your Posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

