Germany: 10/23/2015

Today I ran about 2.5 miles to the mall to walk around and eat lunch. I grabbed some Thai food that could be the best meal I’ve have since I’ve been here.  Will definitely be hitting that place up again.  

    
 
This afternoon Lennart and I picked up a couple of “Smarties Muffins” for him and Paula back at home. Monika got home shortly after we did with some cakes/sweets of her own that she cut up and put on a plate for us all to share with some coffee. This is a German tradition called “Kaffee und Kuchen”. It is much like English afternoon tea, although it is more of a weekend type thing these days.  

   
 
After Coffee and Cake I helped Lenny make some ghost and bat decorations for Halloween  

  

 while Monika and Rafael decorated for their party tomorrow evening. They mentioned that it could last until 4:00 AM.  Wow. Don’t know how I feel about that, but with many things, Germany is different than America.  I’m not going to lie, I am feeling some culture shock/homesickness the past day.  I am enjoying the difference, but it is not quite comfortable yet. 

I really want to go and explore a little further out from my village and the nearby towns, but it makes me nervous.  Monika and Rafael, especially Rafael, do not quite understand this.  My plan was to go to church Sunday in Cologne, but this evening at dinner Monika said that she had heard on the radio of some scheduled protests in Cologne on Sunday and to keep that in mind considering my plans.  Rafael brushed it off like it was nothing to worry about, but being a young woman on my own in a foreign country, and having been raised to be extra cautious in big cities, I can’t help but feel a little iffy about the situation.  I expressed my feelings on traveling alone and preferring that at least for my first time in cologne I either go with one of them or someone who knows the area to show me around a bit before I venture out 100% on my own. 

I think Monika finally understands my concerns a little better now so hopefully we work something out soon.  She gave me the contact info for one of their friends’ son who is a student in Cologne. Maybe I will get to meet up with him soon even though that makes me nervous too.  Maybe I am being a little too paranoid or overly cautious, but I don’t know.  I am like that no matter what country I am in. Pray for my discernment and wisdom in knowing what situations I can/should get myself into.  I want to experience as much as I can while here, but in order to fully enjoy myself I must feel comfortable and not afraid.

On a lighter note, this family LOVES tortillas…I have yet to see them get more excited about a certain meal than they did tonight. All it was was canned tuna, mayo, tomato, and lettuce wrapped in a flour tortilla, but the kids were going CRAZY over it.  Lenny made sure to let me know that if I didn’t finish he would take it, and even stole a few bites from his sister’s wrap when she wasn’t looking.  This causes a bit of arguing among the family I believe, but I can’t understand a word they are saying so I could be wrong.  Not gonna lie, it was pretty good though.  Next week I told them I will make them quesadillas, something they had never heard of. 

  

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

