Germany: 10/22/2015

I still have not adjusted to the time difference or recovered from jet lag just yet. I find myself waking up in the middle of the night as well as taking naps at random times throughout the day.  This morning was much the same as last, consisting of breakfast and jog through the park and into town.  I went to the grocery store again, this time with some money, and bought some grilled chicken strips to put on a salad for lunch. This is my favorite thing to eat for lunch back home, so it was very nice to be able to have it here. 

I got home and was able to open the door on the very first try! Heck yeah! After lunch and some How I Met Your Mother in German, I went and got Lennart from school. I then helped Paula with her English again, talked to Monika as she cooked a Polish dish called Bigos.  It consisted of cabbage, ham, sauerkraut, tomatoes, and mushrooms.  She was making it for the belated birthday celebration they are hosting on Saturday for Rafael. Around 40 adults and their children will be here. 

During our conversation the phone rang and it was the neighbor asking if I could help her daughter with her English school work as well. So the rest of my evening was spent helping Paula and her friend, eating some of the cabbage dish, and finally getting to bed.  

Paula has a vocab test tomorrow and is really worried about it, hence all the studying.  She said she MUST make a good “note” on it.  She does well on most words/phrases, but gets confused on certain words. When I spell the word out for her using the names for our English alphabet she gets even more confused.  In German “e” and “I” are said the same, “G” is pronounced “gey”, and they have no clue what “y” is.  As well as many other strange misunderstandings. I think it she can really learn the alphabet and the sounds each letter makes, she will find learning English much easier. 

  
Bigos.  Doesn’t look appetizing, but it was actually quite good.  

  
Brought the family shirts from Texas. Paula and Monika got Dallas Cowboys, Lennart got Texas Rangers, and Rafael got a Dirk Nowitzki jersey shirt. 

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

