The “Struggle”

One of my biggest struggles as a Christian is discerning between being “in the world” and being “of the world”.  I love to travel, insert myself into different cultures, and learn everything I can about people from all walks of life.  This however creates an ongoing issue and struggle for me.  I have always been told in church that we are not to be of this world.  We are to live as Christ lives and not live as the world lives.  But deep down inside I want to be able to relate to as many people as I can.  How do we do this without being of the world and living as the world lives?  I was driving in the car thinking about this while listening to 101.7 just the other day.  As I was in my thoughts I heard a 60 second clip of a Louie Giglio sermon play through my stereo.  It went along the lines of this:

I should aspire to insert myself into the culture of a multitude of kinds of people in this world in order to accomplish the singular goal of spreading the good news. BE IN the world,  but NOT OF the world.

We can relate to different types people without becoming a chameleon. We can stay true to our beliefs without comprising our morals. We CAN be in this world, be all over this world, and spread the love of Christ at the same time. 
In light of this topic, I think it is an appropriate time to update you on what’s going on in my life currently.  Over the past spring/summer I have been in the job search and wasn’t quite able to land one, or be offered one that felt like the right fit. All summer I had been communicating back and forth with a program that would send me to Germany as an English tutor.  As jobs would pop up on the job board, I kept putting this program on the back burner, and as jobs would fall through I kept telling them I’d go. 

 I’m pretty sure I drove the program crazy with my yes/no dialogue for nearly two months, but after the final job rejection, even though I know I shouldn’t consider it a rejection when it’s all in His plans, I decided that maybe this was God’s way of telling me, “listen up Kayla. This is what I have meant for you to do, and you’re going to do it.”  So I gave them my final confirmation and set in stone YES.  It is official, on October 19th (2 weeks from today eeek), I will be heading to Cologne, Germant for two months.  I am nervous and anxious, but more excited than anything for the new challenge and adventure I am about to embark on. 

I will make sure to post periodically updating you all on what I am experiencing so stay tuned!! 

P.S. my German is coming along slowly, but prayers needed for my ability to communicate!

-Kayla  

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

