A Quarter of a Century

“My friends say I should act my age.  What’s my age again? What’s my age again?” – Blink 182

As of yesterday I am officially 25.  All day I was asked how it felt, and every single time my reply was “I don’t know?”, because I truly honestly do not know how I feel about officially hitting a quarter of a century.  So much has happened, and I have had the privilege and blessing to be able to experience much more than most 25 year olds have.  From my education, to travels, adventures, and career experiences, I can definitely say I have had quite the life so far…

But what now??  Once again, I don’t really know.  I have an idea of what the next few months holds, or at least what I plan it to hold, which more than ever I have learned this past year that just when you make a “plan” God says “Whoa whoa whoa.  Hold up just one second, who ever said that YOU were in charge.  Now here is MY plan for you.”  So ultimately,  I don’t know.  Maybe “I don’t know” should have been the title of this post.

“Might be a quarter life crisis, or just a stirring in my soul.” – John Mayer

I definitely feel like I have reached a quarter life crisis.  I am currently taking a hiatus from the career path that I have been on the past two years in college coaching.  More on that to come soon, but to make a long story short, lots of phone calls, lots of tears, and lots of disappointment.  BUT…lots of soul searching and GOD searching as well.  LOTS of God searching.  “And isn’t it ironic? Don’t you think?” – Alanis (yes just Alanis.  A soul like that needs no last name)  Often times we only seek God when we are in trouble.  I have found that things work out a heck of a lot better if we seek him in all times! Not just the good, not just the bad, but ALL THE DANG TIME.  I know it sounds cliché, but the amount of peace I have found recently in both the highs and lows of life are in direct correlation with my personal time I have finally decided to spend with Him.  Because in the end, isn’t it peace that we are all searching for? Some say happiness, but in my opinion happiness is a byproduct of being at peace with each other, with ourselves, and trusting the Lord to take control of our lives.  Pick up your Bible, get on your knees, “Get that dirt off your shoulder” -Jay-Z(if you know me you know I had to), and get to know the One who created you.

I can’t wait to share with you what is next for me, I just have to figure out exactly how to go about doing so, but to all of my fellow 20-somethings going through a quarter life crisis of your own, or even you middle aged people going through it too, just remember…

“And the rain is gonna wash away I believe it.” – Matchbox Twenty

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

