Haiti: Intro

I returned from a week long trip in Haiti yesterday afternoon and I still don’t feel like I have fully recovered mentally, physically, and emotionally.  Going into the trip I knew I would want to come back and write a blog about my experiences, but after arrival I quickly realized that it was going to take much more than just one blog post (unless you want to read a 50 page long post).

I want to start the series by giving some facts and background about the country of Haiti, then I will go day by day with a post for each day of the trip.

FACTS

  • Capital: Port Au Prince
  • Language: Haitian Creole
  • First discovered by Columbus in 1492
  • 3rd largest Caribbean nation
  • Population: 10 million (1 mill. in Port Au Prince)
  • Haiti is the most mountainous country in the Caribbean
  • Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere
  • 3/4ths OF THE POPULATION LIVE OFF OF LESS THAN $2 USD A DAY!!
  • The 2010 earthquake killed over 300,000 and displaced 1.5 million.
  • Over 80% of the primary schools are private
  • More than 10% of Haitian children die before the age of 5
  • Approximately 1% of Haiti’s population owns over 50% of its wealth.
  • 380,000 orphans BEFORE the earthquake

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

