The Road

I love the road, and when I say “the road” I mean it in more ways than just simply that black paved surface that our cars travel on each day.

1.  “The Road” and running.

I have a love affair with the feeling of my shoes hitting the pavement.  To me,  there is little that is sweeter than getting out of bed* early in the morning and getting your legs moving.  It makes it even better when midway through the run you get to witness the sunrise.  How many of us truly “witness” the sun rise anymore?  Yes we may be awake at that time, but we are usually running around the house getting ready for work and never even peak out the front door or window to see it.  To witness is to see something happen and be able to attest to it.  Every sunrise is different and unique in its own way.  I try to experience and see as many as I can.  Also, the runner’s high. Enough said. 

2. “The Road” and my job.

As a college basketball coach, I am always on the road.  Whether it be traveling to an away game, or driving 2.5 hours to a middle of nowhere town in West Texas or the Plains of Oklahoma to see a single girl play a 2A high school game in a gym that seats 50.  The road is possibly my favorite part of my job.  As a basketball junkie and lover of higher education, I love traveling to different colleges and universities across the nation and seeing their campuses.  I always tried to make it a point to take a pregame walk around whatever school we were visiting.  I love the uniqueness of each gym and arena.  The landscaping and architecture of the buildings around the campus.  As a player, home games were fun of course, but there was nothing like playing in a packed gym on the road and keeping the fans of the opposing team quiet with your play.

Being crammed on a bus with your teammates/best friends while driving halfway across the country to play a single game…there is nothing like it.  I am so blessed to be able to spend the majority of the months of October-March on the road with people who share the same love and passion for basketball that I do.  If you are a current athlete, savor every moment you get, especially the times you have on that bus, in the hotel, and on the court.  Those are the memories you will keep forever, and the stories you will tell for ages.

3.  “The Road” and travel.

Wanderlust gets the best of me on a daily basis.  I can’t sit still.  I want to go and see and experience different cultures and places constantly.  There is something about being in a foreign place that brings me peace.  I don’t really know how else to explain it other than with that word, peace.  Navigating through a new city using the metro, subway, and your good old feet.  There is nothing more freeing.

 If you can’t get a hold of me, I’m probably either daydreaming about the next adventure and ignoring my phone, or I am on the road and have no service.

Planes, trains, and automobiles.  Oh, and feet.  90% of my time is spent on the good ol’ road and I wouldn’t trade that for anything. 

One more thing…

GO USA!!!! ⚽️🇺🇸🙌🏻💪🏻

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

