Good Reads Thursday

If you know me you know I am an avid reader.  I don’t watch much TV (unless its Food Network or ESPN), so much of my down time is spent eating, working out, and reading.  I will read literally anything you put in front of me.  Fiction, non-fiction, autobiographies, self-help, Calculus Textbooks…you give it to me, I’ll read it.  I also, have this weird thing where I can’t start a book and not finish it.  I may start on another book halfway through reading another, but eventually I will finish it. For example this book that I have been working on for months…

Anyways, I thought that I would start up a weekly post every Thursday where I suggest a book.

This week’s “Good Read” is Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain.  In short, Cain describes how introverts are overlooked and under appreciated in our society, and I could not agree more.  I am a “high-functioning” introvert according to Cain, which I like to point out frequently to others since reading this book for the first time 2 years ago.  Sorry not sorry.  Myself and my good friend since age 4 Becky Propp 100% agree that Quiet should be required reading in our nation’s schools.  Heck, it would be read in schools, offices, and households all over the world if it were up to me.  Cain just does such a good job of explaining to both introverts and extroverts alike how each personality type functions and is important in this world.  I highly suggest reading it.  I’m tellin’ ya, you will better understand yourself and be saying “oh my gosh, it all makes sense”, just a 1/3 of the way through.  So go to your nearest bookstore, library, or my all time fav “Half Price Books” and pick up a copy.

Read and let me know what you think!

-Kayla

Author: kescott12

College basketball coach, fitness fanatic, Jesus lover, and wanderluster

Leave a Reply

